I’m Going To Live in a One-Room Cabin In The Woods, Alone.

 

img_1374

You guys. Did you read that title? I’m going to go live in a secluded cabin in the woods *alone* for a whole month. And that cabin is literally just one room. Just me, my books, some art stuff, some foods, and my thoughts. I am probably more excited than I should be.

The idea came about because I have been deeply craving moving to the country. I’ve been looking on craigslist and every time I find an apartment in the country my brain is like “NOT SECLUDED ENOUGH.”

I don’t know why I have such an intense desire to be secluded in the woods but that desire is not just speaking to me but screaming at me. I don’t want to totally upend my life to follow this desire, so I chose a more wise way of fulfilling the screaming desire. I’ve subletted my apartment for a month, and I’m renting a cabin in the Trinity-Shasta forest for all of October.

No internet. No job. Just me and reflection and creation. I think a lot of people do something like this after divorce. They often travel. I’ve done so much traveling in my life, I wanted to travel internally a bit. Finding my sense of creativity and artistic expression in the shadow of a very talented father has been a challenge for me, so that is what I will mostly focus on: art, writing, music, and healing. I’ve got books on the topic (plus many other topics), and all the art supplies you can imagine. This is going to be great…..

…..And also maybe horrible. Some really Bad Things have happened to me in the last year, and my thoughts have been somewhat tortured by these events. Without the anesthetic of Netflix or dates or booze or drugs or facebook, I think I’m going to have to face those thoughts head-on. And it’s going to be really uncomfortable. But also, probably, exactly what I need to grow past all of this.

Wish me luck folks. It’s gunna be a wild ride.

 

This entry was posted in Life List. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Going To Live in a One-Room Cabin In The Woods, Alone.

  1. Barbara Rutner says:

    I applaud you! My only concern is that you have a way to contact someone in the event of an emergency. Love, Grandma Barbara

  2. Pingback: My Cabin Adventure | A Musing List

Leave a Reply

