Emotional Dance Challenge Day 6: Souad Massi

Today I danced to a song I fell in love with in 2004: Souad Massi’s “Ya Kalbi.”

I was flat broke and had just started a new job. I went to Borders Books & Music probably ten times after work for those first few weeks, just so I could scan this CD and listen to the preview of this song. I listened to it over and over again. I told myself that this CD would be the first thing I bought with my first paycheck, and I did.

It’s been one of my favorite songs for the past decade, but I have never danced to it. When I did today, some really old feelings came up. I leaned into the experience, and it was somewhat painful but in the most beautiful way imaginable. I’ve done a lot of talk therapy, but music and dance therapy is really something else.

I hope you enjoy today’s song- it’s a beautiful piece.

This entry was posted in dance, emotionaldancechallenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

