Emotional Dance Challenge: Day 2

Today I danced to Sia’s “Chandelier.”

I decided that my dance today couldn’t pause for even one second. Even if I couldn’t think of my next move I had to just keep going, and the most interesting moves and feelings came up.

I’m not a lyric listener, but a few snippets often sink in. When the song was over, and I sat down in the middle of my living room, I reflected on what I had felt while I was dancing. It felt like I was trying to break free from captivity, and that captivity felt like the shame Sia sang about. We all have shame, deep inside us, that holds us back from being our true sparkling selves. I know that’s true for me. So the lesson I’m going to hold on to today is that I can break through that shame and live a little louder. Swing from the chandeliers, because fuck it.

I like that lesson.

This entry was posted in dance, emotionaldancechallenge, Life List and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

