Adulthood: Next stop, career-land.

Today I see my first ever client. And I’m terrified.

As most of you know, a few years ago I decided to go to grad school to become a therapist. Over these past two-plus years, I’ve stayed up all night writing papers, spent countless hours studying, doing role plays with my peers, reading mountains of research – and now it’s time to put all that knowledge to work. Perhaps not in the first session, but today is the day I move beyond theory and enter into practice. I’m so nervous, my mind keeps saying to me: “Maybe this was a bad idea, maybe I’m not actually going to be a good therapist, maybe it’s not too late to quit and just do nothing instead!” But I’ve poured too much time, energy and money into this decision. Today I will forge ahead into this new phase of adulthood- into a career I know in my heart is my calling. Wish me luck.

This entry was posted in Grad school, Life List and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adulthood: Next stop, career-land.

  1. Corinne says:

    Are you kinding me??? You are a natural!!! I have no doubt that you will breeze through this and say to yourself, “Why did I even question myself?” Cheers TiTi to your bright future! I love you!
    Your serrogate Mom 😉

  2. Courtney says:

    Good luck! You’ll be great and they’re in good hands 🙂

  3. Barbara Rutner says:

    I have no doubt that you’ll do a fantastic job today. It’s so exciting to think of the hundreds (maybe thousands) of people you’re going to help during the course of your career. We’re so proud of you!
    Love, Grandma and Grandpa

Leave a Reply

