Oakland: Making the best of my new town

Despite my sadness about moving from SF, there was actually a time several years ago when I was dying to leave SF. At that time, I missed living on flat ground so I could ride my bike around town more easily, and I wanted to have outdoor space to grow food. I now live on flat ground and have an outdoor space to garden! In an attempt to make the best of not living in SF, in the last seven days I bought a bike and started a garden.

This is exciting. Growing food is on my life list, so expect a full post on that once the garden has actually made something edible. In the mean time, here is a little preview:

And this is my new bike:

IMG_2749

Those who know me well know that I try to face my struggles head-on and I am generally pretty resilient. I am glad I had a little pity party about being torn away from my home, because it was authentic and real and I needed to process it. But now it’s time to start the healing, and I think the garden and bike are a great start 🙂

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oakland: Making the best of my new town

  1. Barb Rutner says:

    The best is yet to come!! Love, Grandma and Grandpa

  2. Pingback: Failures and Successes: Oakland edition | A Musing List

Leave a Reply

