Small Business #2

Ok, so buying another business is not technically on my life-list. But it should have been! So I’m going to tell you guys about it anyway.

Michael has been looking for a small business to purchase on the daily for about two years now. After searching and calling and scouting and praying, he finally found a great spot.

In an office building downtown, a small bodega was for sale– WAY under market value. Just like the house we rent now, it was priced under value because the owner was rushing off to move to another country (Ireland for the house, and the Ukraine for the bodega,) and wanted it sold fast. We pounced, got our business loan wired to the Ukraine on New Years Eve, and now we’re the proud/terrified owners of this awesome little market.

Purchasing a business is an incredibly scary endeavor. We were not given access to the place until the day before we were supposed to be open for business. LLC formation paperwork is still in the (glacially slow) government pipeline, TAX Id’s and pins and all sorts of tedious little details are coming together ever so slowly. Money is flying out of our bank accounts, and it feels like we’re teetering on the edge of a cliff on a windy day. But I’ve learned that the only way to calm the fears of failing is to keep putting effort in to building up your business. I woke up terrified this morning because there’s just so much money going into this. The only thing that made me feel better was filing out paperwork for our new snacks vendors, because, dammit, I’m going to make this place awesome!

Today is my first day sitting at the register and talking to the customers. I’m scared, but it’s honestly my favorite part of the job. “How can I help you?” <—- This sentence is IN MY BLOOD. I love helping people. Whether it’s by giving them coffee, snacks, directions, or emotional help (I’m still training to be a therapist!), I love helping people. And so does Michael. I guess that’s why we’re in this business. To please, to serve, to give – and hopefully make some money in this expensive-ass city we call home.

 

This entry was posted in Life List. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Small Business #2

  1. Aunt Deb says:

    Awesome you guys! I am so happy for you, and very impressed!

  2. Grandma Barbara says:

    Sorry it’s taken me so long to read about your amazing news. Congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

