Homemade Goat Milk Yogurt

Over a year ago I started a couch to 5k training program. But like every athletic goal I have set for myself, I failed because I got sick, lost my progress, and got discouraged. I was getting bronchitis several times a year and it needed to stop. I had no idea what was causing it, but I needed to figure it out otherwise I wasn’t going to be able to acheive half the things on my life list.

Over the last year and a half, I have done just that. I got a doctor, I had my wisdom teeth removed, I started to learn how to handle my stress, and most importantly, I changed my diet.

I experimented a lot. I googled things like, “What should I not eat if I have sinus and lung problems?” One problem food for sinus issues that I found over and over again was milk– specifically cow’s milk. A lot of folks replace cow’s milk with soy, rice, or almond milk. I tried all of those and I didn’t like any of them. I researched more, and found that goat’s milk doesn’t have the stuff in it that cow’s milk does that seems to aggrivate the sinuses and mucus production. Mind you, I found this stuff on homeopathic websites and natural health blogs – so I didn’t see the science for myself.

But I can tell you this, I largely took cow’s milk out of my diet and I have only been sick once this entire YEAR. After having bronchitis or sinusitis four to six times a year, this is a major improvement. No more Fage yogurt, no more bowls of cereal with Strauss Creamery whole milk, no more mac and cheese.

One of my life list items is “Make your own yogurt.” I put this on the list before I discovered I shouldn’t have cow’s milk anymore, so it was going to need to be goat’s milk yogurt. Taken from this website, this was how I made it:

Here was my set up:

IMG_0312

This is everything you need. Goat’s milk, a little bit of yogurt to act as your “starter,” a sterilized jar, a thermometer, and a pot.

Step one: Pour the goat’s milk into the pot. Heat to 180 degrees and not a degree over.

IMG_0314

Step two: When your milk gets to 180, take it off the heat and cool it down to 115. I stirred it by an open window until it got to about 117 (to leave room for it to lower a little bit more while I did step three).

Step three: When the milk is cooled, put a tiny bit into the sterilized jar along with one to two teaspoons of the yogurt. Stir it up real good, and pour it back into the pot. Stir.

Step four: Pour everything into the jar and seal it up tight.

IMG_0319

Step five: Put the jar into an “incubator.” Because I didn’t have a professional yogurt incubator, I put it into a dutch oven filled with warm water from the tap and placed it in the oven (The interwebs said it was the same thing). 

IMG_0320

There you leave it for eight hours or more.

I’m not going to lie, this was the second time I attempted this recipe. I failed the first time because I overheated it and it never got to the consistency of yogurt.

The second time, it worked. I pulled this out after about ten hours and it was the thick consistency of yogurt. I was so excited! I had made milk into a different thing!

photo-2

I made a big elaborate show of my first bite to everyone in the room and it tasted….gross. Positively awful. Those of you who have tried goat’s milk, know that sometimes it can taste rather… goat-y. Something about cooking it made this quality more prominent. That first bite of my homemade goat’s milk yogurt tasted like a full-on petting zoo in my mouth. I just couldn’t jive.

Alas, so much for that idea! I am kind of a wuss when it comes to things tasting “not normal.” Like raw milk. I *want* to like it. I believe in everything there is to believe in about having raw milk, but I just can’t get past my conditioning of what milk should taste like.

There are some brands of already-made goat’s milk yogurt that don’t taste like an actual goat, so I think I’m going to stick to those. Either way, still staying on track for health! Yay for that!

This entry was posted in 5k Challenge, Health, I'm an adult, Life List. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Goat Milk Yogurt

  1. Grandma Barbara says:

    Congratulations! Check one more thing off your Life List. I’m so glad you’ve gotten rid of that upper-respiratory ball and chain! XOXO

Leave a Reply

