Beer, Beer and more Beer! #32-52

Winter/early spring is that time of year when I abandon my love of wine and dive into the wheat-y, filling, delightfully diverse world of beers. And ho-momma did I get a lot of new beers under my belt (St. Patty’s day and camping will do that to a lady).

photo

Normally I take my time and explain each one, but today we’re just going to hit two high-lights because there are FAR too many to talk about each one.

While visiting Portland, Oregon, I had the pleasure of meeting my friend Blake’s cousins, Brett and Laurie, and their adorable kids. Brett and Laurie were the most awesomest couple that ever were and I want to be them some day. They kept bees in their backyard garden, bought entire animals to eat, made things like head-cheese and had the most beautiful and quirky (purple!!) Victorian in the neighborhood. We had dinner at their house, and we were invited to drink some of Brett’s home-made brews. He served us a Belgian, a lager and a stout.

Jason tasting Brett's Belgian, and of course the Bees!

Jason tasting Brett’s Belgian, and of course the Bees!

Of course they were amazing, and I would repeatedly purchase that Belgian if Brett sold it. So delish.

Another highlight from my Winter-long beer journey was a beer that I actually hated and loved simultaneously. Every sip was, “What is happening in my mouth right now??!” I didn’t understand it. It confused me. I hated the taste and yet I wanted more. I suppose curiosity will do that to you. This beer was called Strubbe’s Flemish Red Ale. 

image_4

I can tell you right now I will never buy this beer again but it was an experience I fully appreciate. It was tart, very tart. Like an actual tart. Fruity and sweet and a little bit sour. Interesting stuff.

So with those highlights, here is my winter/spring-long list:

    • Poppy Jasper
    • Strubbe’s Flemish Red Ale
    • Rogue Hazelnut Brown Nectar
    • New Belgium Trippel with Coriander
    • Pyramid Heffeweizen
    • Kona Brewing Co.’s Coco Loco Toasted Coconut Brown Ale
    • Stella Artois
    • Bridgeport Hop Czar
    • Harp Lager
    • Blue Moon Valencia Grove Amber
    • Blue Moon Sunshine Citrus Blonde
    • Smithwick’s Irish Ale
    • Gordon Biersch Maibock
    • Mirror Pond Pale Ale
    • Rogue Brewery’s Dead Guy Ale
    • Red Chair Northwest Pale Ale
    • Lost Coast Tangerine Wheat Beer
    • Shiner Ruby Redbird Summer Seasonal with Ginger
    • Brett’s homemade Lager
    • Brett’s homemade Stout
    • Brett’s homemade Belgian 

I’m over half-way to the finish line! I have to thank Casey and Josh for hosting St. Patty’s day and buying variety packs of beers. You guys really helped my little list along! 

This entry was posted in 100 Beers, Life List. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beer, Beer and more Beer! #32-52

  1. Pingback: Road Trip! Oregon Coast Edition. | A Musing List

Leave a Reply

