On Adulthood

For the first time since I started this blog, I don’t have any life list items on deck. Life in the C+M house is all sorts of serious right now. I’m 28 years old, and truthfully, I feel like I am just starting to see that adulthood has arrived and I need to board the train.

It’s been a long time coming. The past five years I’ve really just been a kid pretending to be an adult– playing house. A lot of my life list is about starting to act like an adult (frame my prints like an adult would do, re-open my own savings account, make more than 50k in a year, etc.) but it’s been hard for me to get there. The way I handle my day-to-day life is still so childish. I don’t save money. I don’t take jobs because they’re good for the family– I take jobs because I want them. I have a hard time eyeing long-term goals. I leave dishes in the sink. I don’t put gas in the car until the very last possible moment. I’ll tell you one thing I’m doing that a real adult would never do: My blush broke apart and all the pink powdery remnants fell onto my vanity. Instead of cleaning it up, I just tap my blush brush onto the vanity and apply from there. Gross, right? That’s something a kid would do. Not a real adult.

But the last few months or so, I’ve been really craving being an adult. Something about Saturn returning and being 28 or something….I’m just so ready for adulthood. For the first time, I can actually see past tomorrow and into my whole long life. I want to do what’s good for the little family I’m building (don’t get too excited family, I don’t mean kids yet!)

So, some things are changing. #1: I’m no longer working as a barista at the Kafe. It’s fun, but I’m not needed there anymore and I could make more money elsewhere while still maintaining my ownership role at the Kafe. Thus, #2:  I’m getting a real 9-5 job, where I’ll be getting real paychecks and I can actually save some of it. And then, the real long-term goals can happen: #3: I’m applying for grad school. I’ve always wanted to be a therapist. It’s my calling, and it’s been so obvious that I’ve kind of tried to ignore it over the years. But, the time has come, and I’m applying for the Fall 2012 semester. It’ll take five or so years until I get my license. And you know what? A few months ago, I wouldn’t have been able to think that long-term. It wouldn’t have been immediate enough. But now? I’m so boarding that adulthood train. And I’m stoked.

So, where does this leave my blog? I think once I get a jobby job and the dust has settled I’ll have more time to do fun stuff. But right now I’m working towards some of the more important life list items, like saving money. Because, if you’ll notice, nearly half of my life list is about traveling, and you can’t travel without the moolah. So there we go. All aboard the adulthood train, headed for AWESOME.

This entry was posted in Life List. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On Adulthood

  1. Deb says:

    I’m 54 years old and I still feel like a kid. Don’t lose that. You can be responsible, while still leaving your blush in the sink. I park my motorcycles in my living room, I don’t make my bed, I throw my clothes on the floor, I eat dinner standing up. So what? Live however you want to live, until you have to be a role model for a child. I’m very impressed that you have a business that runs without you being there. That’s HUGE!! Enjoy your new adventures!

    • spiralcma says:

      Deb – I totally agree! Keeping some youth is so important. This is why I never plan on stopping singing in the shower or eating breakfast for dinner 🙂 You’ve got it right. And I think you’re kind of a badass for parking motorcycles in your living room.

  2. BARB RUTNER says:

    Wow! One day you’re gonna look back at what you wrote on 2/11/12 and be blown away! As someone once said, “today is the beginning of the rest of your life!” Deb’s right about not losing the kid in you, but I’m thrilled that you’re “getting on the train!” I’ve been on it for about 50 years and it’s been worth every minute!

    Bon Voyage! XOXOXO ~ Your grandmother 🙂

  3. Corinne says:

    Titi, I’m always so impressed by your thirst for growth. Through your childhood AND adulthood you have always looked inward. Growing up is challenging….I work on that everyday! I’m so proud of you and always have been.
    I love you so much!
    Your step mom, pseudo mom, serrogate mom…..mom…..
    ~Rinny

  4. Stacey Leach says:

    Chrissy….. One of the most important lessons I have learned as an adult….. DO NOT E-V-E-R
    LOSE the child within you….. It can be a mighty tough world, and trust me, the kid in you will help
    get you thru it…… Funny how much therapy a coloring book and a BRAND NEW BOX OF CRAYONS can do for you…. Trust your adult brain, but always listen to the child heart….
    *Mom*

  5. Pingback: Go To Grad School – CHECK! | A Musing List

Leave a Reply

