Face a fear: Completed!

You would think that with all my love for singing, karaoke would be one of those things that I’d like doing. Nope. Truth is, I’m absolutely terrified of karaoke and I avoid it all costs. I did it once in LA when I was 18 and it was a disaster. It was at one of those karaoke bars where people in LA go to be discovered (read: they’re all really freaking good.) I was drunk and sang terribly, my song choice was stupid (“Criminal” by Fiona Apple isn’t exactly a pump-up-the-audience-fun-times song) and three-quarters of the way into the tune I actually said into the microphone: “Ok I’m so over this SONG! Can I stop singing now?” I imagine it was a rather awkward performance for the audience to witness.

Ok so that was a terrible night. But, I think I could have gotten over it in the last ten years and done karaoke at some point if it weren’t for the fact that my friends think I’m a good singer (which, on occasion, I can be) so they expect me to be good at karaoke. And that is so scary. I just want to wail Journey lyrics off-key like everybody else, you know?

I’ve managed to finagle my way out of every karaoke night with friends for the last ten years, but then last week my friend B decided to have his birthday party at a rent-a-room karaoke bar here in SF. I really wanted to be there and I wasn’t going to ditch out on a good friends’ b-day because I’m scared shitless of karaoke. So I grabbed my balls, checked my ego at the door, warned my friends that I wasn’t going to be on pitch or anything they might be expecting, and I dove in.

The night was fan-freaking-tastic. I sang Madonna’s “Like a Prayer” with a big group of people, I sang Jamiroquai’s “Virtual Insanity” with the birthday boy, I sang along to every single song I knew. Sadly, I have no proof as I didn’t get a single picture of me actually singing (I need to give my husband digital camera lessons again!) but there are a lot of good shots that, I think, sum up just how much fun was had at karaoke by everyone in attendance (myself included):

Here's Michael being encouraging as I'm picking a song from the book

I discovered I'm quite talented with the tambourine... but only when booty is involved (heh.heh.)

Picking songs ~

Group singing!

Birthday boy singing to his lady ~ awwww

Oh we didn't have fun at all. Haha SYKE!

_____________________________________________________

I generally try to take a lesson from every life list item I cross off my list. This time I got a karaoke lesson. Here are a few things I learned:

1. Don’t do slow songs. Would you play a slow song at a fun party? No. So there’s no reason to do it at a karaoke party… unless you’re a Mariah Carey incarnate and you’re going to sing the shit out of it. That would be cool.

2. Pick songs that people like to sing along with. Two reasons why: 1: they will drown you out and 2: everyone wants to sing along because it’s fun.

3. No one cares if you’re good or bad or anything as long as you’ve got energy! Hearing someone totally butcher a song is actually kinda awesome if they’re really putting on a show.

4. People who can do rap songs at karaoke are the shit. I wish I was one of them.

Major thanks to B and P for putting on such an awesome party. Facing fears, at least this time, was pretty freaking fun. I think I may make a habit of this karaoke thing….

This entry was posted in Life List. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Face a fear: Completed!

  1. Deb says:

    How fun! Good for you! I think I might like to do that someday, but I would definitely need some alcohol first!

    • spiralcma says:

      Oh absolutely! One or two beers makes it a lot easier 🙂

      • BARB RUTNER says:

        Ditto on the congrats ~ and speaking of beers 🙂 ~ your grandmother has a new fave, enjoyed with Deb and Grandpa tonight at Finnegan’s Irish Pub in beautiful downtown Novato. It’s Lagunitas Little Sumpin’ Sumpin’ Ale. Wow! So rich and fruity! Description: (by some guy on some website)
        Pours a clear golden with an off white head and lacings. Sweet with a light dryness and lots of sugary hops aromas. Nice fruity hops notes with tiny hints of resin. Tiny bready hits. Medium bodied. Medium carbonation. Sweet and dry finish with more hops. Good.

        I call it “DEELICEOUS!” XOXOXO

  2. Lauren says:

    Oh my god I am SO SO SO jealous!!!! I love all of this so much!! 🙂

  3. Christopher says:

    Good for you. I should try karaoke one day, everyone keeps telling me how fun it is. 😉

    • spiralcma says:

      Christopher, you haven’t done karaoke either?! All these singers that don’t do karaoke, I’m seeing a trend. This needs to be remedied immediately!

Leave a Reply

