Getting My Health in Order: An Update

I’ve usually got a few life list items going at once, but right now I’m fully and solely dedicated to Getting My Health In Order. I feel the need to check in with my blog and let you know how it’s going over here.

1. Ayurvedic diet is going well. I’ve been pretty much sticking to everything with two exceptions: I cannot seem to ditch my coffee with a table-spoon of milk every morning and also, chocolate. I love me some dark chocolate, and sometimes I just need a little piece after dinner, you know? I keep it as a special treat, so I think we’re ok.

2. Finding a doctor. SO important. I haven’t seen the same doctor twice since I was about 12 years old. I can’t tell you how stupid that is. Having had about 25 or so bouts of bronchitis in my adult life, every time I went to the doctor they would be like, “Oh you have bronchitis, here are some antibiotics. Feel better.” When really I wanted them to say, “You have bronchitis AGAIN. Jesus, what the hell is wrong with you? Let me help you figure that out.” Now, I’ve got Kaiser medical insurance for the first time ever, and I am hoping that being in the system over there can give me the consistency I need to figure out just what the hell is wrong with me.

3. On my first doctor visit, the very lovely Dr. Tran asked me about 45 minutes worth of questions (awesome) and the topic of my possible gluten intolerance came up. She seemed suspicious of it, asked my symptoms, and chuckled knowingly. Then she said, “Can you give me maybe one or two examples of what you ate EXACTLY when you had these symptoms? I have a feeling it’s not gluten.” I replied, “I really only ate gluten when I would have my bagel and cream cheese for breakfast, or milk and cereal.” Then she chuckled some more and told me that if anything I have issues with lactose, not gluten. DERP. I’m not allergic to it, but I can only have little bits at a time to digest it properly. And I thought, THANK GOD, I MISS BEER SO FUCKING MUCH. But other than that, I don’t miss bread so I’ll probably stay largely gluten-free except for the beer.

4. So. Moral of the story: Diet going well. Doctor is important for consistencies sake, and the lovely Dr. Tran is already testing out some hypotheses of my stupid chronic bronchitis. Beer is officially back in my life, although only in little tiny quantities. I’m on the right track health wise. Next up: Teeth.

I’m also thinking with all this making myself healthy boring hard work, I need to do something fun. I’m going to go through my list and see if there’s something I can start on that’s a little more entertaining than going to the doctor and dieting. I’ll keep you posted.

This entry was posted in 100 Beers, Health, Life List. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Getting My Health in Order: An Update

  1. BARB RUTNER says:

    So glad you’re now covered by Kaiser! We love the fact that we can e-mail our doctors anytime and get a response within 24hr.! We’re also happy to see that you’re probably going to do something about those wisdom teeth. If you signed up for Kaiser dental coverage you may have a very hard time finding a dentist who will honor it, but I think you’ll find it well worth the cost to get those wisdom teeth out of your life. 🙂 LOL

  2. Deb says:

    Great job Christina! I’m dragging myself to the gym now, while all I want to do is go back to bed. Staying healthy is not easy!

    • spiralcma says:

      It’s totally not easy, but so worth it, right? Rock on Deb! Getting to the gym is the hardest part of working out really 🙂

  3. Pingback: Getting my health in order: It’s wisdom teeth go time | A Musing List

Leave a Reply

