Beer #11 – Hell or High Watermelon

I bought this beer specifically to bring to Burning Man (because crushed cans are easier to bring home than a bunch of bottles) but never drank any of them out there. There’s something about extreme heat and lots of dirt that just makes me want to be sober. So tonight, while playing a game of spite and malice with Michael, I cracked out one can o’ beer to try.

21st Amendment’s seasonal brew, Hell or High Watermelon Wheat Beer, is quite possibly the only beer out of a can that I’ve ever really enjoyed. Like an actual watermelon, it isn’t richly flavored but has a very vague and watery taste without that being a bad thing. It’s dry, sweet, light, and crisp.

The watermelon flavor that I thought would be there, in my opinion, isn’t. Rather, the only non-beer scent I pick up is when I stick my nose in the glass and there’s this faint smell of raw squash. I know that sounds weird, but it’s so obviously there. I wish you could smell it. It’s like the skin or hide or whatever of a butternut or a pumpkin. It’s a very distinct smell… perhaps thick watermelon rinds have the same smell as squash rinds. Alas, it’s still a pretty delicious beer. I highly recommend it if you need a good canned beer between the months of April and September.

And with that, I’m back to gluten-free beers!

This entry was posted in 100 Beers, Life List. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

