Running/Recital

Alright, it’s the home stretch for two of my life list entries: Run a 5k, and Perform Something Pre-rehearsed for a Live Audience.

I finally found a 5k to run, which, by the way, was shockingly difficult. A lot of marathons have “Kids only Fun-times 5k!” which is embarrassing and I couldn’t run them. There was one 5k I found for adults but it had the word “cow” in the title and I wasn’t going to huff and puff my way through a 5k with a picture of a cow on my t-shirt. Nope. Finally, I found a simple race in the north bay in late-august. I’ll get a race number to pin to my shirt and everything. I’m up to running 6 laps (1.5 miles) at a time now, so I’ve still got a ways to go. But having come from not being able to run two minutes straight at a time, I’m still pretty proud of myself.

As for the singing recital, due to a venue fall-through, the recital was postponed at the last minute a few weeks ago. Sad. But that also gave me more time to practice. Now I’ve got a few more weeks to perfect my dying cat sounding opera piece! The good news is, we are also performing a song of our choosing so maybe I can redeem myself. I’ll be singing Bonnie Raitt’s “I can’t make you love me.” It’s a beautiful song.

So there’s that! Next time you hear about either of these, I’ll have crossed the finish line and taken my bow πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in 5k Challenge, Life List, Singing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Running/Recital

  1. Omg omg! Will we have the privilage of knowing when/where the recital will be so we can come watch and cheer you on and sing along?!! Because that would be a-mazing!

  2. BARB RUTNER says:

    What’s the date and location of your 5K. Your fans may want to come cheer you on. πŸ™‚

  3. Juliette Javaheri says:

    You rock!!!

Leave a Reply

