Beers #4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9!

A few weeks ago we had two good friends, RR and CT, over for dinner. Little did I know CT had been saving one beer from every six pack he bought and brought over all of them to try! (genius, by the way).

So, along with nommy food and great dinner table conversation with cool people, we also got to all try 6 new beers together for the blog. Good times.

Here are the beers we had:

Sweetgrass American Pale Ale

Anderson Valley Brewing’s Hop Ottin’ IPA

Lagunitas Maximus

Inversion IPA

Beer Republic Racer 5  IPA

Sam Adams Latitude 48 IPA

So you’ll notice, CT has a beer type. These are all the IPA’s we had. We tried them next to one of my favorite kinds of beers, the Leffe Blond, and wow. I don’t like IPA’s. CT and RR were very well versed in beers and taught me a lot, of course all of which I have forgotten, other than what “hoppy” tastes like. I’m sad to say, I’m not a fan of ‘hoppy’ beers. This kinda makes me feel like a phony beer lover, because if you’re a real beer lover then you appreciate the hoppiness because that’s what makes a beer a beer. But. Not me. It’s a little too bitter for me to actually enjoy. But that’s kinda like people saying you’re not a true espresso lover unless you drink it without any cream or sugar. I say eff them. I love espresso but only with cream, who cares. I still love it. Same with beer. So I don’t love the hoppy stuff. I like the non-hoppy stuff and that’s good enough.

In the end I had a great beer lesson, got 6 new beers under my belt, and had a lovely evening with friends. Thanks so much for bringing those over CT. OH! And the best part? A few weeks later I went over to CT and RR’s house to help them pack for their cross country move (sadface) and what did they have waiting there for me? A beautiful full six pack of my lovely Leffe Blonde. Apparently friends know their friends’ favorite beers 🙂 Thanks guys!

87 more beers to go!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in 100 Beers, Life List. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

