The 13 week running program: Started

One of my life list entries is to Run a 5k Marathon. I started off on the wrong foot a little while ago. But I was determined to get back on the wagon. I went to the doctor to check out the mysterious pain in my chest. It turned out NOT to be my heart. The doctor was like, “Do you use your chest or arm muscles a lot? Maybe in your work?” I was all like, “Whoa. Yes.” And then she said, “You need to stretch your chest/shoulders/arms. K? You’re not dying of a heart attack.” So, with that out of the way, the doc gave me the green light to run and I got started.

Here are the few things I did over the last few weeks to get ready to run:

1. I bought this book because my friend Christopher told me to:

And I’m actually reading it. I’ve learned that you have to run like a kid, and that basically I’m doing everything wrong. Re-learning your stance is hard yo.

2: I amped up my core excersizes. I continue to make my back strong cuz that sh*t is seriously important.

3. I bought this book:

Inside it has a 13 week program that basically gets you from zero to 5k. It’s a fantastic book and a great program.

4. I bought this spiffy watch to help with the program:

I haven’t worn a watch since the 90’s so that’s pretty exciting.

So today I started. The first session is: Walk 2 minutes, Run 1 minute, Repeat 12 times. I had a lovely morning at Kezar Stadium completing session one. So far, so good.

This entry was posted in 5k Challenge, Life List. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The 13 week running program: Started

  1. cheerleader says:

    You go girl! Rock it…proud of you.

  2. spiralcma says:

    Thanks lady 😉

  3. Jessica says:

    Whenever I think of running like a kid, I think of that episode of Friends where Phoebe and Rachel go running. Do you run like this? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rfaztVg4kaA

Leave a Reply

