Scrapbooking v.2.0, and, I think I’m a Technophobe

Life-list entry: Never stop doing my scrapbooks.

The friends who know me well, know that I forget everything. I forget stories. I forget events. I forget very close friends were friends with me at certain periods of my life. The ironic part is that I am very nostalgic as well. I have always known this,  and I have always been this way.  So that’s why I’ve documented my life, since the age of six, in my scrapbooks.

Scrapbooking is a pastime I enjoy. Not so much for the crafty part, just for the keep-saking part.  But today, sadly, my scrapbook is at an unprecedented 13 months behind.

The last few years I’ve had a really hard time keeping up. There’s been no shortage of things to document, so I wasn’t really sure why it’s been so hard for me to scrapbook.

After much guilt processing and contemplation, I finally realized: it wasn’t my waning interest that kept me from scrapbooking. It’s my very well-practiced methods of scrap-booking that are holding me back. I scrapbook like it’s 2001. And it’s really not 2001 anymore.

I started scrapbooking in the time of film. I miss film, I love film.  But it’s just not practical anymore. One thing I love about film is that it encourages you to get prints developed immediately because you can’t even see the pictures unless you develop them. The curiosity of how they look meant that I developed them super fast, and put them directly into a scrapbook.

These days, I get such immediate satisfaction from digital shots, that I rarely get around to getting them developed. It costs money to develop them. Plus money to buy the scrapbooks. Plus money to buy all the supplies. This stuff adds up. Back when I was a kid, I had parents to buy all these things for me. Now I’m an adult and I have rent and bills and other annoying adult financial responsibilities, and I can’t honestly afford it.

I’ve decided my old ways of making scrapbooks is dead, and I need to update it if I’m ever going to keep up.

Enter: Blurb.com. The make-it-youself coffee table book website.

Last weekend I went to a party at a friend’s house, and they had a coffee table book of their wedding photos. Amazing, right? Yes. Amazing. And it costs less than the price of a scrapbook to have it made. And no photo printing is involved.

So I’m stepping into the 21 century and, though I’ve been dragging my feet about all this digital technological stuff, I’m just going to do it anyway. It will be easier and I need to put as few obstacles in my way to get these years documented as possible. Each year I’ll make one of these coffee table books and I’ll still have my life well documented for my forgetful self and potential offspring. Sweet.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On a side note, I’m really starting to feel strange about the internet and digital photos and smart phones and everything tech-y. Like, obsessively strange about it. I really miss the old times.  Like when you didn’t know who was calling when the phone rang, and you still said, “Hello?” when you answered.  I miss reading a book without wanting to google something every other page. I miss looking at paper maps and writing out directions of where I’m going. I miss running into people from my past and not knowing what’s going on in their life because facebook doesn’t exist.

I think I don’t really like having information at my fingertips. The way I connected with the world is kinda…. gone. The change has felt very heavy on me lately, and I’m trying to navigate through it. Do I resist the technology? Remove internet from my house, get rid of the cell phone, and keep using 35mm film, dammit? Or do I embrace it? Relearn how to be in the world in the age of technology? I just don’t know yet. I’m torn between wanting things the way they were, but also wanting to be a part of what the world is engaging in now. My scrapbooking is getting an update, but I’m not sure about the rest of my life. Food for thought I suppose.

This entry was posted in Life List, Scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scrapbooking v.2.0, and, I think I’m a Technophobe

  1. Aunt Debbie says:

    Al & I have made books on Blurb. It’s really fun, and still creative. Al made one called “Italy”. You may be able to do a search on it (on Blurb) to see it.

    Regarding technology: Just think how we older folks miss the simpler times. I am soooo thankful we didn’t have computers when I was a kid! I love techy things, especially caller I.D., but you just have to set some boundaries on the others (which is waayyy easier said, than done).

    Get your heart checked out before you commit to running. It’s really important. A simple Electrocardiogram is quick and easy, and probably not very expensive.

    Good luck!

  2. Pingback: Scrapbooking for realz | A Musing List

Leave a Reply

