Talents, Teeth, Parties and Beer.

Today’s post is about life list additions rather than completions.  Lots of real-life, adult things are going on right now that are taking my attention away from the fun of this list. For example, I would much rather be looking for red pumps to wear than for a second job.  But, I swear this blog won’t become the “adding things onto my list without doing them, ever” blog.  Although it’s been that way for a while, it’s ok.  I’m adding things slowly and doing them slowly and that’s kinda the point, right?   This is a life list, not a right-now list.  So while I continue on with my singing lessons (smiley face) and adult responsibilities (sad face),  here are a few of my recent additions:

* Find a hidden talent.

You know those people who can juggle or make their tongue into a flower or spin a basket ball on one finger? I want to be one of those people.  I want to show my kid some really weird thing I can do that will both frighten and amaze them.  Clearly with the kid reference I’ve got plenty of time to figure this one out.

* Have a completely gift-free Christmas.

Christmas, as an almost-adult, can sometimes feel a little grotesque. I’m not a super hippy, but I have these moments during the holidays where I am overcome with the urge to put anti-consumerism bumper stickers on my car.  Bumper stickers. See?  Grotesque.  I like the love and family party of christmas, so one day I would love to have a completely gift free celebration where I just hang out with the family and eat good food, instead of buying them things and having them buy me things.  I know, I know, it’s called Thanksgiving.  I’ve heard that one, but still.  One day I would like to engage in simply the true spirit of Christmas.

* Frame the prints I buy, like an adult would do.

For me, art prints are always impulse buys.  Then buying the frames for them takes planning, measuring and non-impulse-based cash handling. I am great at the former, and terrible at the latter.  I have a ton of awesome art in my house sitting in cardboard rolls, waiting to be hung. I WILL buy frames for them, and I WILL hang them in my house. I feel like it would be a step into real adulthood.

* Throw someone a surprise party.

Beware. It might be YOU.

* Get my wisdom teeth removed.

Ok, this is a big huge important one.  I’ve been putting it off for about ten years now.  I’m terrified of the whole procedure, to the point where thinking about it makes me feel dizzy and faint.  The dentists I’ve seen tell me they won’t put me under for the procedure because my tonsils are too big (I won’t be able to breathe?!).  I’ll be awake, and I’ll have to hear the whole procedure in all it’s awfulness and I want to cry and hide under a blanket until it goes away on it’s own…but that won’t happen.  Proof: earlier this week I woke up to my entire jaw bone feeling bruised and a rip-roaring headache because they’re growing in right now, as they have been, on and off, for years.  Sorry if that was TMI, but the moral of the story is I need to get them removed, stat, because they won’t magically disappear. They will keep causing me pain if I continue to not take care of it.  I need to just get over my shit and rip the suckers out.  If I don’t, the dentists told me I will lose feeling in my lips.  Making out would be sensation-less, and what would life be without sensational make-outs?   A TRAGEDY, that’s what.

My plan is this: The day I get dental insurance, I’m grabbing my balls, picking up the phone, and setting a date for the procedure.  Done.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In addition to the, er, additions, I have one major change to my life list:

My “find a perfect beer” thing just won’t work.  I may never find one because there are just too many lovely beers in this world.  So, I’m changing it from finding a perfect beer to trying 100 new beers.  (I was inspired by a fellow life-lister, Jessica, and her 200 beer challenge. You can read her blog here.)  I’m pretty stoked on that.

So stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Life List. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Talents, Teeth, Parties and Beer.

  1. Jessica says:

    Thanks for the shout out!

    I just got my wisdom teeth out and I promise it went really smoothly. I’m 30 which is “old” to get your teeth out but I never even had to dip into the pain meds and I didn’t get all swollen either. If anything was uncomfortable it was more my jaw than the actual tooth areas. And I have a pretty low pain threshold/I’m kinda a wimp. Now, mine were completely “erupted” and were straight so I didn’t have difficulties like being impacted or sideways or they needed to be cut out.

  2. spiralcma says:

    I’m happy to hear that from someone that had them out when they were “older”. I’m 27, and people keep telling me that it gets worse and more difficult to recover as you age. Mine are erupted too, so hopefully that will help too. Thank you for the encouragement!

  3. Aunt Debbie says:

    I had a wisdom tooth removed when I was about 50. I hadn’t been that scared in a long time. I was on the verge of panic. Then it turned out to be a piece of cake!

    A similar thing happeded to me last week. I was scared to get a cortisone shot in my shoulder. When surgery became the only other option, I had to do it. It was another piece of cake! I was so proud of myself, I bought myself an ice cream cone!

  4. Pingback: An update in brief – and a video just for fun | A Musing List

  5. Pingback: Beer #1 | A Musing List

Leave a Reply

